Are You Thirsty?

spring

Mineral Water Spring in Nuskova.

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/User:ModriDirkac

When Jesus talked with the woman at the well in Samaria, he likened himself to a spring of water: “Whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”  John 4:14

Thirsty. What are we thirsty for? For love, fun, romance, money, children, happiness, peace? I think we all are at one time in our lives. 

Have I been thirsty for the things of this world after giving myself to Jesus? Not at first, and not for 5 years. Then my first marriage broke up. I was lonely, very lonely and raising my two daughters. I was thirsty for love and companionship. I let this rule me for a very long time.

I remarried, but my new marriage was not what I hoped it would be. There was lots of fighting, mostly about how to raise the children. He was too strict in my eyes and I was too lenient in his eyes. This almost broke us up.

So, I was lonely again, even though I was married. I didn’t feel loved and I thirsted for love. I didn’t look at other men, but I longed for a man to truly love me. Eventually, God showed me that the desire I had for love from humans, men, children and grandchildren, was more than my love for him. In fact, he showed me I loved my children more than I loved him. I didn’t know that – but then I saw it as plain as day.

I knew that I needed to turn from human love to his love. His love needed to be enough for me. I spent much more time praying, reading Christian books and the Bible. I found that Jesus’ love is more than enough; it is, “like a spring of water welling up to eternal life”

Like Joyce Meyer says, I was a Christian through all of this, but I was a sad Christian. Joyce says she was a Mad Christian. Lol  God was with me all through the years, blessing and helping me. We had a good relationship, but not the best we could have. Our relationship is much stronger now and I thirst for nothing but him. (As far as I know!)

“How precious is your steadfast love, O God! The children of mankind take refuge in the shadow of your wings. They drink their fill of the abundance of Your house; And You give them to drink of the river of Your delights. For with You is the fountain of life; In Your light we see light.”  Psalm 36:7-9

 

 

6 thoughts on “Are You Thirsty?

  1. Thanks for sharing these details about your walk with the Lord, particularly “he showed me I loved my children more than I loved him.” It reminds me of how I’ve often heard people say, “my children are my life” or something similar, and it never quite settled right with me. I’ve always thought along the lines of “If you love your children, the best thing that you can do for them is to make the Lord your life and then you can be the best parent you can possibly be for your children.” (Just my perspective though, but that seems to be what you’re saying too?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. About 4 years ago, my husband and I moved out of the seperate apartment in my daughters home. We had lived with her for 10 years. Her youngest daughter has OCD, and she needed me to take care of her so she could work.

      After we moved out, I fell into a deep depression. I was so lonely; I missed everyone very much. I was also bored; had nothing to do. I felt useless and hopeless, i hated my life. I took my husband’s sleeping pills, but not enough of them.

      Anyway, after the hospital and therapy I read something that rang true. A man wrote, “If you want to die, whatever it is that you want to die over – you love that thing or person more than God.”

      I wanted to die because I didn’t see my daughters and grandchildren any more and also because I was tired of life. Just sick of it.

      So, when I realized I loved my family and myself more than God, I decided I had to get closer to God than ever in my life, and I have. Not that I dont still consider myself a terrible mess – because I am. But I have learned I don’t need a person’s love or attention to feel fulfilled or want to live. God alone is enough.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Even though Jesus knew he was dying for our sins. Even though he was fulfilling prophesy. Do you think he ever wondered why no one tried to save him. Do you think he wondered or wished someone would fight for him. Even though he knew his purpose, everyone else didn’t know. I often wonder why out of all of those people no one tried to save him. No one did the right thing. I mean ofcourse I know why he died and he knows why he did but no one else started a mob of people boycotting this and no one took him off the cross and saved him. I just ponder these things.
    Thank you for sharing your story. I know I;m off topic i was just curious of your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your interest. Well, it says Peter took his sword and cut off a person’s ear. I guess he would have been willing at first to fight for Jesus. But Jesus stopped him.

      I also think the reason Jesus’ trial was at night was so all the people who loved him wouldn’t know it was going on. It was actually against the law for them to try Jesus at night, but they didn’t care.

      Jesus always discouraged violence, and I think if those who loved him had tried to take Jesus off the cross by force, the Roman soldiers would have slaughtered them. Jerusalem was full of soldiers at that time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

