Falling in Love with God.

516px-Lovis_Corinth_Das_hohe_Lied_Ill

The first time I read Song of Solomon I thought, “Why is this crazy poem in the Bible? What does it have to do with God?  I couldn’t figure it out so I asked God what it meant. A thought came to my mind, “This is how I want you to love me.”

“Whoa, that hadn’t crossed my mind. As far as I could see, Solomon was in love with this girl and wooed her by saying stuff like:

“Your hair is like a flock of goats descending from the hills of Gilead. Your teeth are like a flock of sheep just shorn, just come up from the washing. Each has its twin; not one of them is alone.”

(I guess she had all her teeth which was a bonus in those days.)

I thought about myself when I was falling in love. I remember thinking about my boyfriend all day and night. I was constantly wondering what he was doing; I couldn’t wait to see him after work. I loved having the whole weekend together. I was full of happiness when I was with him. I felt safe and loved. I could see that in the Song of Solomon; but how was I supposed to feel like that towards God?

I’ve always prayed to love God with all my heart, mind and soul and my neighbor as myself. Love has been my goal since I asked God into my life. But I had to be honest, I didn’t have a loving “feeling” for God very often.

A few weeks ago, I listened to some talks by Ty Gibson. He talks about God loving us in a way I have never heard before. After listening for some days, I finally believed God loved me. He really loved me.

I had known that in my mind, but never in my heart. I believed the Bible when it said, “God is love,” but I always had a sneaking suspicion that he was just putting up with me because he had to. I thought I was a big disappointment to him as I was to myself.

But here comes the great surprise. The greatest surprise of all. When I believed God loved me, I finally had that amazing feeling of falling in love with him. I just love talking with him, thinking about him and spending a whole day alone with him.

I understand why that happened. If you don’t believe someone likes you, then you hold back. You keep your distance. You don’t trust. How could I love someone I couldn’t trust?

So, now I am in love with God. Amazing.

Here are a few of my favorite verses from Song of Solomon:

The girl Solomon loves is speaking:

Like an apple tree among the trees of the forest is my beloved among men. I delight to sit in his shade and his fruit is sweet to my taste. Let him lead me to the banquet hall, and let his banner over me be love.

Strengthen me with raisins, refresh me with apples, for I am faint with love,. His left arm is under my head and his right arm embraces me.

Listen! My Beloved! Look! Here he comes, leaping across the mountains, bounding over the hills. My beloved is like a gazelle or a young stag.

Look! There he stands behind our wall, gazing through the windows, peering through the lattice.

My beloved spoke and said to me, “Arise, my darling; my beautiful one, come with me. See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone. Arise, come, my darling; my beautiful one, come with me.”

I now see Jesus, running through the forest to my house; he’s looking through the window, knocking at the door; he’s asking me to come away with him to heaven.

“Surely I am coming soon,” Jesus says.  Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.  Rev. 22:20

Here is where you can find some of Ty Gibson’s talks. “An Endless Falling in Love,” is one of the best.  http://www.pilgrimskeyradionetwork.com/sermons/sermons.php?speak=40

Leave a Reply

